Saturday, July 30, 2005

Some other bits I missed....

I should do this stuff when I'm more awake. Here are the links for Critters, ABCtales and AuthorsDen.

Friday, July 29, 2005


Just in case you haven't noticed the link graphic on the right-hand side of the Rev Up Review home page...

The Rev Up Review is now listed at UK podcasting at its best - -- home to such terribly British podcasts as A Minor Technicality and The Richard Vobes Radio Show. Thanks to Neil Dixon of Britcaster for accepting The Rev Up Review into this very British family.

If you subscribe to the Britcaster podcast feed you'll automatically receive a host of British podcasts, now including The Rev Up Review.

Tuesday, July 26, 2005

Oops... missing link:

Here's the link to my review of Will Self's Great Apes
referred to in the review of Cyberpunk Radio.

Sunday, July 24, 2005

The Rev Up Review Breadcast

The Rev Up Review, Number Seven:

  • Title: RUR-2005-07-24
  • Size: 21.4 MB
  • Duration: 46'33"
Use this FeedBurner link to download the mp3 file directly, or to add the feed to your aggregator.


Background music:

Friday, July 22, 2005

News catch-up

First, something I should have posted here last week but only just got around to -- you can hear the Rev-Master reading a story for Steve Eley's Escape Pod here...

(Thanks Steve, it was fun!)

Second (and more up-to-date): Gary Leland, aka P. Dilly (formerly known as the Pickleman), played the Rev Up Review promo on the Podcast Pickle Show - Episode VII. (Thanks Gary!)

Lastly, a new Rev Up Review should be up some time this coming weekend.

Saturday, July 09, 2005

Thanks for concerned emails

Thanks to those who emailed me about the London explosions. It's been frightening watching the carnage on TV, but fairly amazing to see how quickly the transport system was up and running again. Thankfully my nearest and dearest were nowhere near the capital on the day, but we'll all need to be extra vigilant from now on. Vigilant, yes -- cowed, no. Trying to fathom the mind of a terrorist is a pretty fruitless task, so we simply endeavour to continue with our lives.

Anyone who was affected, indirectly or directly -- my thoughts go out to you. There's little comfort we can offer to those maimed or bereaved, other than to make it known that our sympathies are with them, and that despite the threats we will not be terrorized.

Sunday, July 03, 2005

The Rev Up Review: New Serial Starts Today

The Rev Up Review, Number Six:

  • Title: RUR-2005-07-03
  • Size: 16.4 MB
  • Duration: 35'45"
Use this FeedBurner link to download the mp3 file directly, or to add the feed to your aggregator.


  • 00.00 Intro music: "Undertow" by Reaman (ElectroBel)
  • 00.08 "You're listening to The Rev Up Review"
  • 00.14 Welcome
  • 01.10 The Rev Up Review is a proud member of The SciFi Podcast Network
  • 01.28 The release of iTunes 4.9
  • 03.44 Ambient Audio (per Dave Winer)
  • 05.57 The Rev Up Review Competition
  • 06.30 Skepticality promo
  • 07.41 Skepticality review
  • 10.09 Update on Matamea Rising
  • 10.38 Matthew Krohn's explanation
  • 12.28 Snow Bank by Jeffrey Adams
  • 13.52 audio tag
  • 14.02 Who listens to podcasts?
  • 19.33 Music: Make It Go Away by David Henderson (Pod Safe Audio)
  • 23.52 Episode 1 of Travel With Confidence (music by The Brothers Femme at Pod Safe Audio)
  • 35.00 Send feedback to, or in North America call the RANT line: 206-339-RANT (7268)
  • 35.45 End
Background music:
  • "Another Place In Time" by David Henderson, from the album For You For Me. More at Pod Safe Audio